Our Member Districts

The Minnesota Legislature established Intermediate School Districts in 1969 as: “cooperative program[s]...that offer integrated services for secondary, postsecondary, and adult students in the areas of vocational education, special education, and other authorized services.

Intermediate School Districts are authorized under chapter 136D in Postsecondary Education legislation.

ISD 917 currently serves nine member districts in the south metro area in the areas of special education, career & technical education (CTE), and alternative learning: 
  • South St. Paul Public Schools (SSD 6)
  • Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District (ISD 191)
  • Farmington Area Public Schools (ISD 192)
  • Lakeville Area Public Schools (ISD 194)
  • Randolph Public Schools (ISD 195)
  • West St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan Area Schools (ISD 197)
  • Inver Grove Heights Community Schools (ISD 199)
  • Hastings Public Schools (ISD 200)
  • Bloomington Public Schools (ISD 271)

For enrollment in our special education or career & technical education (CTE) programs, students must be referred to ISD 917 by our member districts.

Students from any school district (in or outside of our member districts) can enroll directly in our alternative learning program (DCALS).

To learn more about our member districts, please click on any of the below logos.


 So. St. Paul Logo - link  Burnsville Schools Logo - Link

Farmington Schools Logo - Link
Lakeville Schools Logo - link 

Randolph Schools Logo - Link 
District 197 Logo - Link 
 Inver Grove Schools Logo - link
Hastings School Logo - Link 
Bloomington Schools Logo - Link